Skip to content

Diaconate Double Dose

April 22, 2014

 

Official programs from both of today's ordinations.

Official programs from both of today’s ordinations.

Today I had the pleasure and honor to attend not just one, but two diaconate ordinations. Both were for classmates from the Pontifical Gregorian University.

In the morning I attended the diaconate ordination of two men from the Pontifical Irish College, one of whom is a classmate. The ordination was held at my favorite Church in Rome, the Basilica of the Holy Cross of Jerusalem. After the beautiful ceremony we all made our way over to the Pontifical Irish College for lunch. Fortunately I was able to make the day even better with a quick pit stop at the generalate of the Apostles of the Sacred Heart of Jesus as I made my way from the Church to the college. Unfortunately I had to skip the desert portion of a wonderful lunch so that I could make my way on to the next ordination.

The second diaconate ordination of the day was for eight young Jesuits, seven of whom are my classmates The eight men originally hail from many different countries, so there was quite an international element to the experience. For example, the official programs contained all of the texts for the liturgy in five different languages. Many of my other classmates from the university who come from all over the world were also able to attend the celebration in support of our Jesuit companions. Given that we are currently on break from classes for Holy Week and Easter, it was nice to be able to relax and spend time with my classmates in a more relaxed and social setting at the reception following the ordination.

A long, but spiritually enriching day.

And if you’re wondering…both ceremonies around 2 hours.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2014 1:08 am

    Someday I want to actually make it to Rome and see all these places…

    • April 23, 2014 11:37 pm

      Well, I know it might not be possible, but, if you come in the next two years, I’d be happy to show you all around! Especially, God-willing, when I’m a priest and also able to celebrate Masses in the different Churches.

Leave a Reply

