Skip to content

Audience with Pope Francis

April 10, 2014

This morning classes were cancelled at the Pontifical Gregorian University. However, the cause was most certainly just. Pope Francis had invited all of the faculty, students and staff of the university to an audience at the Vatican. I guess you could consider this another field trip.

So instead of heading across the city to the university, those of us from the NAC only had to go down the hill to the Vatican. We met up with our classmates, other students and professors. For the first hour or so there were a series of songs sung by representatives of the various countries and cultures represented at our university. The mixture was quite eclectic. As the time for the audience with the Holy Father approached, the event took a more prayerful disposition, as the rector led us all in prayer. Then Holy Father arrived and addressed all present. His address can be found here. After the address he greeted many of the professors present. Then, to our surprise he started to make his way up the aisle where all the students were present. We all lined up against the barriers and stuck our hands out shake hands with the Pope.

A blessed morning indeed. I took my simple point-and-shoot camera and didn’t get too many good shots. Here are three I can share.

Pope Francis addresses the university community.

Pope Francis addresses the university community.

Pope Francis approaches as he greets the students along the aisle.

Pope Francis approaches as he greets the students along the aisle.

After he passed by me, I had to put the camera down to shake his hand.

After he passed by me. There is no photo of him right in front of me as I had to put the camera down to shake his hand.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2014 8:50 pm

    Amazing. Are you floating?🙂

    • April 10, 2014 10:09 pm

      It was indeed pretty amazing. It wasn’t a formal greeting, nor did I get the chance to speak to him, but still an amazing blessing to be able to shake hands with the successor of Peter, the Vicar of Christ, and such a holy man.

  2. dabbond permalink
    April 10, 2014 10:22 pm

    How awesome, thanks for sharing the pictures. It was almost 1 year ago this month you took us on that fantastic tour through the Basilica and shared a meal and some good times with all us. So thankful for the experience and your gifts shared. Keeping you close in prayer as you get closer to ordination to Deacon. YOur sister in Christ,Diane AMDG

  3. April 12, 2014 9:31 pm

    You are very fortunate Geoffrey to be among such a fellowship of supporting believers

  4. May 7, 2014 4:04 am

    I felt butterflies in my stomach just reading this/seeing the pictures–I can’t imagine having been in your shoes! I honestly think I would have had to have been wheeled up there–I just don’t think my legs would’ve been able to walk. Truly a magnificent day.

Leave a Reply

