Skip to content

Introducing Pope Francis: Responding to Crisis

July 31, 2013

This evening I was able to give a talk to the parish on Pope Francis. There was a great turnout, especially for a summer weeknight. It was a great opportunity for many people from the parish to get together and share a meal, and then after the meal, I spoke on our new Holy Father.

The first half of the talk is very similar to my post on the experience of the papal transition this spring.  The second half of the talk I propose three steps that one can find across the many speeches given by Pope Francis thus far.

Below is a link to a .pdf of my prepared talk. Much like our Holy Father, I tended to veer off of the text, particularly in the first part when I was telling stories. However, when it comes to the more substantial part, about the content of his preaching, I stayed closer to the text with some variations here and there.

GBrookeJr-PopeFrancis

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2013 4:54 pm

    I am sorry, I must have missed something. What did the Holy Father mean by ‘GMO’ ?

  2. July 31, 2013 5:13 pm

    NGO stands for Non-Governmental Organization. It is the term most used internationally for what we in the United States usually describe as a non-profit organization.

Leave a Reply

